Contact Us Sitemap Home


Basic Information

Coat of Arms

National Flag

National Anthem

President's Portrait



Government & Politics

Colonial Period

The Constitution

The House of Chiefs

Economy & Trade



Related menu

Visa Information






Botswana is a landlocked country in the Southern African region. It shares borders with the following countries: Namibia (west and northwest); Zambia (north); Zimbabwe (northeast) and South Africa (east and south). Botswana lies between 20 and 30 degrees east of Greenwich, and between latitudes 18 and 27 degrees south of the Equator. More than half of the country lies within the tropical zone, north of the Tropic of Capricorn. Roughly the size of Kenya or France, Botswana has a land area of about 581730 square kilometres.

The land is mainly flat with gentle undulations, occasional rocky outcrops and the largest inland delta, Okavango Delta, which has been declared a World Heritage Site. About 80% of the country is covered by Kgalagadi sands and shrub savannah. The driest region, in the extreme southwest, has active sand dunes and very sparse vegetation.